Skip to content
Search

Frequently Asked Questions about Psychiatric Medication

Frequently Asked Questions about Psychiatric Medication

What are the common types of psychiatric medications?

Common types of psychiatric medications include antidepressants, antipsychotics, mood stabilisers, tranquilizers and hypnotics, etc. However, this traditional way of classification is actually imprecise. For example, the medications used to treat depression are also useful in treating anxiety disorders, and the second generation antipsychotics are found to have therapeutic effect on bipolar disorder as well.

 

What are the dos and don’ts on taking medication?
Do Don't
  • ✅ Strictly follow your doctor’s instructions
  • ✅ Read the prescription label carefully
  • ✅ Pay attention to the drug name, dosage and frequency, etc. before taking your medication
  • ✅ Pay attention to the dosage, indication, contraindication and side effects
  • ✅ Store your medication properly
  • ✅ Complete the prescribed course unless otherwise directed
  • ✅ If you have any questions or experience any side effects, talk to your family or ask your doctor for advise
  • ❌ Change the dosage of your medication on your own
  • ❌ Stop taking your medication except on your doctor's advice
  • ❌ Drink alcohol with your medication
  • ❌ Put your medication in other bottles
  • ❌ Take other medication unless directed by your doctor
  • ❌ Take two doses at the same time when you forget to take a dose
  • ❌ Lie to your doctor about your compliance

 

How to deal with side effects?
New generation of medications with less side effects

Every medication, no matter Western or Chinese medicine, has numerous possible side effects. Among these, only a few are common. In recent decades, the new generation of psychiatric medications have already improved significantly in side effect profile.

Side effects can be controlled and adapted gradually

Some side effects subside as the body starts to adapt to the medications. For example, some patients might have exacerbation of anxiety and appetite problems in the first week of antidepressant treatment; these symptoms usually subside gradually.

There are also some side effects which are amendable to some other methods. For example, the second generation antipsychotics have side effects of increasing the risk of metabolic syndrome which includes high blood sugar, high blood lipid, high blood pressure and weight gain. If the patient adopts a healthy lifestyle, e.g. having adequate exercise and diet control, the risk of having these side effects can be lowered.

Report to doctors to adjust dosage, frequency and time of taking medications

It is important for patients to report to their doctors any discomfort after taking the prescribed medications. Doctors will judge whether the discomfort is a medication side effect, a symptom of the mental illness or the symptom of another illness.

It is unwise to totally refuse medication treatment due to fear of side effects. Even if certain side effects are not avoidable, the doctor will discuss with the patient to decide on the plan of medication treatment, after balancing the risk of relapse and the harm of side effects. Doctors can minimise the side effects by adjusting the dosage, frequency and time of taking medications.

 

Why should patients continue medications after recovery?
Mental illness is a kind of chronic illness; continuous medication helps consolidate recovery

One common misconception about recovery in mental illness is about the role of medication treatment in maintenance. This misconception is common because in many acute illnesses, e.g. pneumonia, the patient stops taking the antibiotics after the infection has been cleared.

For chronic illnesses, like mental illness, even after the patient has all the symptoms subsided and has fully resumed his work and normal family life, in many cases, the psychiatrists advise the patient to continue the medication for a period of time ranging from months to years to consolidate the recovery and preventing relapse.

*Know more – The risk of relapse after medications stopped

Taking psychosis as an example, according to medical research, the chance of relapse would be 77% and 90% after medications stopped for 1 year and 2 years respectively. Therefore, it is very risky to stop medications without consulting your doctors, and maintenance therapy plays an important role to prevent relapse. In fact, mental illness is like a storm and maintenance therapy is playing a preventive role to prevent the coming back of a storm.

 

What should the caregivers do if patients refuse to take their medications?

Do not criticise the patients. Try to find out the underlying reason for their refusal, e.g. the patients experience any undesirable side effects or have any necessary worry about their medications, etc. Encouragement from the family and explanation of the treatment plan by healthcare professionals are crucial. Contact the healthcare professionals if the patients still refuse to take the medications.

 

How to ensure patients taking medication on time?

Doctors will take account the patient’s condition when prescribing medication. For example, try to arrange taking all the drugs once in the evening. Sometimes patients may need to take medication at different times of the day. Here are some simple methods to help ensure patients taking their drugs on time:

  1. Prepare a pill organiser
  2. Set a cue on your mobile phone
  3. Try to link taking medication with a lifestyle habit, such as taking the medicine before teeth brushing in the morning

Other than oral medications, doctors can consider prescribing the longer acting, less side effects injections.

 

 

 

Reference source(s): Websites of the Institute of Mental Health of the Castle Peak Hospital and Kwai Chung Hospital

Skip to content
搜尋

關於精神科藥物治療的常見疑問

關於精神科藥物治療的常見疑問

常見的精神科藥物有哪幾類?

常用的精神科藥物包括抗抑鬱藥、抗思覺失調藥、情緒穩定劑、鎮靜劑和安眠藥等。然而,這種傳統的分類方法實際上並不夠精確。例如,用於治療抑鬱症的藥物也可用於焦慮症;第二代的抗思覺失調藥亦發現對躁狂抑鬱症有療效。

 

服用藥物須知
應要 不要
  • ✅ 嚴格遵從醫生的指示
  • ✅ 詳細閱讀藥物標籤
  • ✅ 服藥前,清楚藥物的名稱、服用劑量及次數等
  • ✅ 留意藥物之劑量、功效、禁忌和副作用
  • ✅ 妥善儲存
  • ✅ 完成整個療程
  • ✅ 如對藥物存疑或產生副作用,應與家人商討並向醫護人員提出
  • ❌ 擅自改變服用劑量及次數
  • ❌ 擅自停止服用
  • ❌ 與酒精飲品服用
  • ❌ 將藥物放入其他藥瓶內
  • ❌ 沒有遵從醫生指示下同時服用多種藥物
  • ❌ 當忘記服藥時,擅自同時服用兩劑
  • ❌ 向醫生隱瞞服藥的情況

 

如何處理藥物的副作用?
新一代藥物副作用較少

每一種藥物,無論是中藥或是西藥,都會有副作用。每一種藥物出現的副作用可以多達數十種,這反映了副作用的出現是因人而異,而常見的副作用通常只有幾種,其餘的都不太常見。在精神科藥物方面,近年新一代精神科藥物在減低副作用方面已大大改善。

副作用可控制及慢慢適應

有些副作用會隨著身體慢慢適應藥物而消退,例如有些患者服用抗抑鬱藥初期 (大約首一星期)的緊張及食慾不振情況會有所加劇,但這些不適大多會逐漸消退。

亦有些副作用是可以用其他方法處理,例如增加「代謝綜合症」的風險是第二代抗思覺失調藥的其中一種副作用,這包括高血糖、高血脂、高血壓及體重增加,只要患者採取健康的生活方式,例如適量運動和控制飲食,這些風險是可以減低的。

向醫生反映 調校藥物分量、服藥次數及時間

患者應向醫生詳細描述服藥後的不適,醫生會判斷這些不適是否由於副作用, 屬於該精神病的徵狀,還是由於其他疾病所引致。

害怕副作用而完全拒絕服藥是一種不智的做法。雖然有些副作用是無可避免, 但是醫生會和患者商討,平衡病發的風險及副作用的害處,而決定選擇那一種藥物治療。醫生亦可透過調校藥物的分量、更改服藥次數及時間,以減低藥物的副作用。

 

為甚麼精神病「好番」後還要食藥?
精神病屬長期病患 持續用藥有助鞏固康復

在精神病康復的概念中,很多人誤解「藥物治療」的角色。這個誤解很普遍, 原因是在很多「短期病」,例如肺炎,患者只需要服用一個療程的抗生素,當感染已被消除時,患者便不需要繼續服藥。

對於精神病患這種「長期病」來說,很多時即使病徵完全消退,而患者已重拾狀態去應付工作及生活,但精神科醫生會建議繼續藥物治療一段時間 (為期數 月甚至數年)。原因是即使同一藥物,在不同治療階段的角色都不同,在病徵已醫好後,藥物的角色便轉為「鞏固康復」,以減低復發的風險。

*陪我講‧話你知─停藥後的復發風險

以思覺失調為例,根據醫學文獻停藥後一年的復發機會有77%,而停藥後兩年的復發機會更高達90%。所以,在未諮詢醫生的情況下擅自停藥是十分危險。其實精神病患就好比暴風雨,康復後的持續治療 (Maintenance Therapy) 正正擔當著一個預防角色,以防範下次暴風雨的來臨。

 

如果患者拒絕服用藥物,家人應該怎麼做?

請謹記不要批評患者。嘗試找出患者拒絕服藥的原因,例如出現副作用或對藥物存疑等。家人的鼓勵和支持,加上醫護人員對藥物治療的解釋至關重要。如果患者仍拒絕服用藥物,請向醫療人員求助。

 

如何確保患者按時服藥?

醫生在處方藥物的時候,會站在患者立場去考慮,例如盡量把藥物安排在晚上 一次過服用。但遇到較為複雜的情況時,患者便需要在日間的不同時間服藥。一 些既簡單又能確保按時服藥的方法包括:

  1. 準備藥盒
  2. 在手提電話上設置提示響聲
  3. 嘗試把服藥與一種生活習慣掛勾,例如在每早刷牙前服藥

除處方口服藥物外,醫生也可考慮處方藥效更長效、副作用更少的針劑。

 

 

 

 

參考資料來源:青山醫院精神健康學院葵涌醫院網站