Skip to content
Search

Anxiety Disorders

Anxiety Disorders

What are anxiety disorders?

Anxiety disorders are a group of mood disorders characterised by excessive worry, fear and anticipation of impending danger. Common types of anxiety disorders include "panic disorder", "separation anxiety disorder", "social anxiety disorder", "specific phobia" and "generalised anxiety disorder". Anxiety disorders can cause significant distress and impairments of daily life to the patient.

Anxiety is a basic human emotion which has essential meaning for survival but excessive anxiety is harmful

Everyone experiences some level of anxiety each day. Anxiety and fear are a natural response to potential threats. The uncomfortable nature of "anxiety experience" alerts us to avoid danger. However, when anxiety is excessive, it becomes highly uncomfortable and negatively affects our functioning. The relationship between performance and anxiety level takes an inverted U shape; moderate level of anxiety improves performance, but when anxiety gets too high, performance will decrease.

The relationship between performance and anxiety level

When anxiety becomes pathological

To determine if the anxiety we feel is too much and become pathological, we have to see whether the level of anxiety is appropriate to our threat, whether it has persisted for too long, and how much it has adversely affected our daily functioning. The duration, intensity and circumstances for the excessive anxiety vary widely among different forms of anxiety disorders.

 

How common are anxiety disorders?
Prevalence rate

Prevalence rates of anxiety disorders vary for different countries and age groups. For Chinese Hong Kong residents aged 16-75, prevalence rate of generalised anxiety disorder is 4.2%, while other anxiety disorders have a prevalence rate of 1.5%.

Gender ratio

The proportion of female to male patients for anxiety disorders is approximately 2:1, but there is no significant gender difference for social anxiety disorder.

Age of onset

Most cases of separation anxiety and specific phobias develop during childhood; most cases of social anxiety disorder develop in adolescence or early adulthood; most cases of panic disorder and generalised anxiety disorder develop during later adulthood, with a greater dispersion of onset age. Certainly, there are individual differences for illness onset.

 

What causes anxiety disorders?

 what causes anxiety disorders?

Genetic and environmental factors are both involved. A family history of anxiety disorder, traumatic experience in childhood, heightened anxiety in parents, stressful life events, and insufficient coping strategies, etc. all contribute to the risk of anxiety disorders.

 

What are the symptoms of anxiety disorders?

Below are some major symptoms of anxiety disorders:

Cognitive and emotional
  • Highly distressing and excessive worry
  • Anticipation of impending danger with little chance to escape
Physiological
  • Abruptly increased heart beat, rapid breathing
  • Anticipation of impending danger with little chance to escape
  • Chest and gastrointestinal problems
  • Muscle tension, aches or fatigue
  • Dry mouth
  • Sweating
Below are the symptoms of common types of anxiety disorders:
Specific phobia

Specific phobia is characterised by excessive and irrational fear to a particular object or situation. Sometimes, panic attack can be triggered. Commonly feared objects and situations include flying, heights, animals, receiving an injection, and seeing blood, etc. In extreme cases, the fear response is not only cued by the real object or situation, but also at the mere mentioning or sight of visual representations of it, leading to avoidance behaviours. Some patients may suffer from more than one type of specific phobia at the same time.

Social anxiety disorder

Social anxiety disorder is characterised by persistent strong fears of social situations where others’ judgment and evaluation are expected. This fear can be so strong that individuals may avoid places or events where they may act in a way that will be negatively evaluated, or they would remain quiet in social situations to avoid drawing others’ attention. When around other people, they may palpitate, blush, tremble, draw a blank, stutter, sweat, or even have difficulty breathing and feel dizzy.

Generalised anxiety disorder

Generalised anxiety disorder (GAD) is characterised by multiple excessive worries persisting for few days or even months. Worries can widely involve various kinds of daily events, such as job, safety of family members, finances, or infection, etc. These worries are often uncontrollable and shifting. Patients are usually overwhelmed by persistent symptoms including fatigue, fidgeting, difficulty concentrating, irritability, insomnia, and so forth.

Panic disorder

Panic disorder is characterised by repeated ‘panic attacks’, which, under no obvious threats, lead to intense fear and physical symptoms such as palpitation, shortness of breath, sweating, trembling, chest discomfort, and dizziness etc. Patients often perceive these symptoms as signs of life-threating illnesses, and worry for losing control or even imminent death. To prevent intense physical symptoms and distress, patients often make great efforts to avoid certain places or situations. But such avoidance can increase feelings of fear and anxiety, resulting in a vicious cycle of panic and anxiety. Some patients with panic disorder may also develop agoraphobia, which is an avoidance of crowded places or places where immediate escape is difficult (e.g. railway station, intercity buses, or unfamiliar subway).

Separation anxiety disorder

Separation anxiety disorder often occurs during childhood. Patients show developmentally inappropriate and excessive anxiety when being separated from their attachment figures, such as their parents or caregivers. Cognitively, they often worry about being abandoned by their parents or losing them due to accidents. As a result, they are unwilling to be left alone. Behaviourally, they may call their parents excessively to seek assurance during separation, or simply refuse to go to school.

In addition to children, separation anxiety disorder can also occur during adolescence or adulthood. The figure of attachments can be their parents, caretakers, spouse or offspring.

 

 

What are the treatments of anxiety disorders?

Treatment of anxiety disorders mainly include psychotherapy and medication.

Psychotherapy

Cognitive-behavioural therapy aims to build up the affected persons' own abilities to manage their problems, and it is an effective treatment choice for most anxiety disorders such as specific phobia, social anxiety disorder, generalised anxiety disorder and panic disorder. Its treatment usually covers the domains of cognition, behaviour, and physiology.

  Way of treatment
Cognition
  • The main focus is on modifying catastrophic, irrational and maladaptive thoughts such as developing a more balanced appraisal on the possibility of catastrophe occurrence, modifying absolute thinking or overgeneralization
Behaviour
  • This may include exploring active ways of problem-solving, effective skills of stress management
  • If a particular situation triggers anxiety, exposure of the situation may be gradually increased to build up the patient's successful experiences and confidence in coping with the situation
Physiology
  • This is to equip patients with relaxation skills and techniques to cope with or ease their stress reactions
Medication

When there are serious symptoms of anxiety or panic, patients may follow doctor's prescription to alleviate their symptoms with medication.

Type Second generation antidepressants Tranquilizers
Common drugs
  • Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRI), e.g.
    • Citalopram (Cipram)
    • Fluxetine (Prozac)
    • Sertraline (Zoloft)
  • Serotonin and Noradrenaline Reuptake Inhibitors (SNRI), e.g.
    • Venlafaxine (Efexor)
  • Benzodiazepines, e.g.
    • Diazepam (Valium)
    • Lorazepam (Ativan)
    • Alprazolam (Xanax)
Indications Effective in treating most anxiety disorders except specific phobia
  • Relieve the symptoms of anxiety
  • Have calming and sleep promoting effects
Mechanism of action Work by regulating the neurotransmitters activities, such as norepinephrine and serotonin in the brain Work by regulating the neurotransmitters activities, such as GABA, serotonin, noradrenaline on the brain GABA receptors
Side effects /points to note
  • SSRIs:
    • Fatigue, nausea, gastro-intestinal upsets, sweating
  • SNRIs:
    • Dry mouth, gastro-intestinal upsets, nausea, fatigue
  • Because it takes 2 to 4 weeks for the medications to bring out symptoms improvement, at the beginning of treatment, the patient might still have much distress from the symptoms
  • Dizziness, drowsiness, somnolence, fatigue, body imbalance, loss of memory, difficulty in carrying out voluntary movements, dry mouth, impaired coordination, drugs dependence, withdrawal symptoms
  • Avoid taking any alcoholic beverages
  • This kind of drugs has a high potency to be abused, so patients must comply with doctors’ instructions when taking these medications

If patients experience any undesirable side effects during drug treatment, please consult the doctor as soon as possible to clarify the worries and make appropriate adjustments.

 

How to help and support people with anxiety disorders?
Tips for caregivers:
Avoid blaming:

People with anxiety disorders may get anxious from situations that are difficult for others to understand; they may avoid social contact, isolate themselves, or be involved in various kinds of inconveniences. Families should try to learn more knowledge about the disorders and avoid blaming them to prevent adding further distress to them.

Be a good listener:

Encouraging, but not forcing, them to share their feelings and difficulties, listening to them patiently, showing acceptance, and giving time and appropriate supports to them.

Maintain regular life:

Providing a peaceful and comfortable environment for them, and facilitating them to engage in regular daily activities as far as possible.

Encourage social interactions:

Encouraging them to maintain personal interactions with others, such as keeping contacts with those they have good relationship or they feel comfortable to meet.

Get more understandings:

Helping them to gain more understanding of their course of illness, and encouraging or accompanying them to seek treatment and cooperate with mental health care professionals.

Monitor regularly:

It is not uncommon for people with anxiety disorders also suffer from depressed mood. Pay attention to any changes in mood and mental state of the individual. If any self-harming behaviours and/or abnormal behaviours are noted, one should seek help from health care professionals as soon as possible.

Take care of yourself:

Supporting emotionally disturbed people is a long-term challenge. So carers need to look after their own physical and mental health, to rest and regenerate, and then to accompany patients to get out from troubled time. Ask for help when necessary.

 

 

 

 

Radio i Care 友心情網上電台 「雨」友同行 音樂伴我行 (周柏豪、李雨陽) 賽馬會社工創新力量:東華三院心靈大掃除 焦慮症患者的所感所思 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關焦慮症的短片
Radio i Care 友心情網上電台 「雨」友同行 音樂伴我行 (周柏豪、李雨陽) 賽馬會社工創新力量:東華三院心靈大掃除 焦慮症患者的所感所思 賽馬會社工創新力量:東華三院心靈大掃除 焦慮症患者的所感所思

Reference source(s): Websites of the Institute of Mental Health Castle Peak Hospital, Kwai Chung Hospital and Child Assessment Service, Department of Health

Skip to content
搜尋

焦慮症

焦慮症

焦慮症是甚麼?

焦慮症是一系列以過度焦慮或恐懼為主要表徵的情緒疾患,其特點是會過度地擔憂和預期危險即將發生。常見的焦慮症包括有「驚恐症」、「分離焦慮症」、「社交恐懼症」、「特定恐懼症」和「廣泛性焦慮症」等。焦慮症可以對患者造成顯著的困擾並損害其日常生活。

每人每天都會感受到一定程度的焦慮或擔憂。對潛在的威脅感到焦慮與恐懼是與生俱來的自然反應。因焦慮而產生的不安感有助我們避免危險,但是,過多的焦慮感卻會適得其反。「能力表現」跟焦慮感的關係可以用一個倒轉的「U形」去理解。適中程度的焦慮感會改善工作表現;相反,過高的焦慮感會減低工作表現。

「能力表現」跟焦慮感的關係

當焦慮成病態

要判斷焦慮感是否構成病態,就要視乎焦慮程度與實際遭遇的威脅是否成比例,焦慮是否長久持續,以及我們日常生活的功能受到多大程度的負面影響。在不同種類的焦慮症中,焦慮的程度、持續性及誘發的情況可以有頗大的差別。

 

焦慮症有多普遍?
發病率

焦慮症發病率於不同國家和年齡群組會有所不同。根據《香港精神健康調查2010-2013》,在年齡介乎16至75歲的華裔香港居民當中,廣泛焦慮症的患病率為 4.2%,其他焦慮症的患病率為1.5%。

男女比例

女性與男性患上焦慮症的比例約為 2比1,但社交恐懼症的患病比例並無明顯性別傾向。

發病年齡

分離焦慮症和特定恐懼症大多從童年發病;社交恐懼症大多從青少年或成年早期發病;驚恐症和廣泛性焦慮症大多在成年後較長時間才發病,發病年齡分佈也較廣泛。當然,個別患者的發病年齡也會有所差異。

 

焦慮症的成因是甚麼?

焦慮症的成因是甚麼?

焦慮症的成因涉及遺傳及環境因素。家族病史、童年創傷經驗、父母本身的焦慮表現、生活壓力、缺乏應對困難的技巧等都是造成焦慮症的風險因素。

 

焦慮症有哪些徵狀?
焦慮症的主要徵狀:
思想與情緒
  • 過多的擔憂及不安
  • 預期會發生逼切而又不能避免的危險
身體表徵
  • 突如其來的心跳及呼吸加速
  • 胸部及腹部不適
  • 肌肉繃緊、疼痛及疲倦
  • 口乾
  • 出汗

不同焦慮症種類的徵狀:

 

特定恐懼症(Specific Phobia)

特定恐懼症的病徵是對某些特定事物或情境感到異常恐懼,甚至出現恐慌反應。常見的例子有害怕飛行、處於高處、動物、打針、見血等。患者除了在碰上該事物或情境時出現驚慌失措外,可能在接觸到相關的字眼、圖像時也會感到毛骨悚然,甚至會有嚴重的逃避行為。 有些患者可能會同時患上多過一種的特定恐懼症。

 

 

社交恐懼症(Social Anxiety Disorder)

社交恐懼症是指患者明顯而持續地害怕一種或多種社交情境,他們經常覺得在社交場合中被人注視、檢查和批評。患者很害怕自己會因行為失當而招致羞辱,於是選擇逃避這些場合,又或者在這些場合中不發一言,以減低别人對他們的注意。面對他人時,他們往往會出現心跳加速、面紅耳熱、顫抖、腦海一片空白、說話口齒不清、出汗、甚至呼吸困難、頭暈等反應。

 

廣泛性焦慮症(Generalised Anxiety Disorder)

廣泛性焦慮症患者會經歷持續數天,甚至數月的焦慮感。 焦慮的感覺可廣泛地牽涉到日常生活的各樣事情,例如對工作、家人安全、經濟、疾病感染等都過度憂慮。患者的不安情緒難以控制並容易轉移。 長期的擔憂使患者無法放鬆下來,出現容易疲勞、坐立不安、不能集中精神、暴躁或失眠等情況。

 

驚恐症(Panic Disorder)

驚恐症是於沒有危險的情況下,重複出現原因不明和突如其來的恐慌突襲(Panic Attack),即是患者無故地感到萬分恐懼,而身體又出現恐慌反應,包括心跳急促、呼吸困難、冒汗、顫抖、胸口翳悶、頭昏眼花等。患者往往會擔心這些恐慌反應是嚴重的身體疾病、害怕失去控制甚至即時死亡。 強烈的身體感官不適及心理困擾會令患者盡力去留心及預防恐慌突襲,避開相關的地點或情境,但這些行為反而會令患者更緊張,形成惡性循環。部分驚恐症患者還會同時患上廣場恐懼症(Agoraphobia),即因為害怕驚恐發作而避開人多擠迫或難以即時逃離的地方(如:鐵路站、長途巴士或陌生的隧道等)。

 

分離焦慮症(Separation Anxiety Disorder)

分離焦慮症常發病於兒童時期。患有分離焦慮症的兒童很害怕與依戀對象 (例如父母或主要照顧者) 分開,並會出現過度、與其年齡及發展階段不符的焦慮反應。在思維上他們可能擔心被拋棄,或害怕父母遭遇意外,因而不願與父母分離。在行為上他們可能會在分開時異常頻密地致電父母以求安心,甚至直接拒絕上學。

除兒童時期外,分離焦慮症亦可能發作於青少年或成年時期;分離焦慮的依戀對象除父母、照顧者外,也可以是配偶、子女等親近之人。

 

如何治療焦慮症?

治療焦慮症主要包括心理治療和藥物治療。

心理治療

認知行為治療是協助患者建立能力,自己去管理病情的治療方案,對多數焦慮症,例如特定恐懼症、社交恐懼症、廣泛性焦慮症和驚恐症都是有效的。治療通常會針對「認知」、「行為」及「生理」三方面。

  治療方法
認知
  • 主要集中改善患者一些災難性、不合理或不良適應的想法 (例如持平地評估發生災難的機會、修正絕對化或以偏概全的想法)
行為
  • 探討積極解決問題的方法、建立有效管理壓力的技巧
  • 若是特定情境引發焦慮,還可以訓練患者循序漸進地接觸不安的情境,逐步建立面對焦慮情境的成功經驗和信心
生理
  • 以身心鬆弛技巧來幫助患者處理或緩和焦慮時的反應
藥物治療

當患者出現嚴重焦慮或恐懼症狀時,可按需要服用醫生處方的藥物,以減輕病情。

類別 第二代抗抑鬱藥 鎮靜劑
常見例子
  • 「選擇性血清素再攝取抑制劑」(SSRI),例如:
    • Citalopram (Cipram)
    • Fluxetine (Prozac)
    • Sertraline (Zoloft)
  • 「血清素與去甲腎上腺素再攝取抑制劑」(SNRI),例如:
    • Venlafaxine (Efexor)
  • 苯二氮䓬類藥物,例如:
    • Diazepam (Valium)
    • Lorazepam (Ativan)
    • Alprazolam (Xanax)
功效 有效治療多數的焦慮症(特定恐懼症除外)
  • 紓緩緊張焦慮的病徵
  • 有鎮靜和安眠作用
作用機制 透過調節腦內影響情緒的神經傳遞物質,包括「血清素」 及「去甲腎上腺素」的活動失調,以達致治療效果 透過影響腦內GABA受體的化學作用,調節腦內神經傳遞物質,如GABA、血清素、去甲腎上腺素等的活動失調,以達致治療效果
副作用 / 注意事項
  • 「選擇性血清素再攝取抑制劑」(SSRI):
    • 疲倦、作悶、腸胃不適、流汗
  • 「血清素與去甲腎上腺素再攝取抑制劑」(SNRI):
    • 疲倦、作悶、腸胃不適、口乾
  • 由於藥物需要大約2-4星期才能改善患者的病徵,所以患者 於服藥初期仍會感到身體不適或明顯的病徵
  • 頭暈、昏眩、有睡意、疲倦、不能平衡、失憶、行動遲緩、口乾、動作不協調、上癮、斷癮症狀
  • 避免和酒精飲品混合服用
  • 此類藥物較易被濫用,所以一定要經醫生診治和處方才可服用

如服用藥物期間出現副作用的情況,請盡早諮詢醫生,從而澄清疑慮及作出適當的調節。

 

如何支援及幫助有焦慮症的人士?
照顧者小貼士:
不要責怪:

患者可能會因一些旁人難以理解的原因感到焦慮,乃至迴避社交、不願出門或牽連出各樣的生活不便。家人應了解病況和成因,不要責怪患者,以免令患者更加困擾。

耐心聆聽:

鼓勵但不勉強患者講出感受及困難之處,耐心聆聽,表示諒解患者,給予充分的時間和適當的支持。

規律生活:

給予患者一個安寧舒適的生活環境,並盡量安排患者過有規律的日常生活。

鼓勵社交:

鼓勵患者維持社交活動,例如保持與投緣或感覺良好的人接觸。

了解病情:

讓患者多了解自己的病情,鼓勵或陪伴患者去接受治療及與醫護人員合作。

留意變化:

焦慮症患者亦可能同時受到抑鬱情緒困擾。應留意患者病情的變化,如發現有自殺傾向或行為有異時, 盡快向專業人士求助。

照顧好自己:

支援情緒病患者是長期的挑戰,所以照顧者也需要保障自己的身心健康,懂得讓自己休息和回氣,再陪伴患者走出困局。有需要時也要求助。

 

 

 

 

Radio i Care 友心情網上電台 「雨」友同行 音樂伴我行 (周柏豪、李雨陽) 賽馬會社工創新力量:東華三院心靈大掃除 焦慮症患者的所感所思 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關焦慮症的短片
Radio i Care 友心情網上電台 「雨」友同行 音樂伴我行 (周柏豪、李雨陽) 賽馬會社工創新力量:東華三院心靈大掃除 焦慮症患者的所感所思 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關焦慮症的短片

參考資料來源:青山醫院精神健康學院葵涌醫院衞生署兒童體能智力測驗服務網站