Skip to content
Search

Autism Spectrum Disorder

Autism Spectrum Disorder

What is autism spectrum disorder?

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a neurodevelopmental disorder, characterised by different degrees of impairment and deviance in the development of social communication, cognition and emotions, and presence of restricted, repetitive patterns of behaviours and interests as well as sensory processing problems. Other areas of impairments, such as intelligence and language, may co-exist.

About different names of ASD

With new diagnostic criteria in recent years, previously used names such as autistic disorder, Asperger’s disorder, high functioning autism, autistic features, atypical autism and pervasive developmental disorder not otherwise specified are subsumed under the new diagnosis of "autism spectrum disorder" (ASD) to reduce confusion.

Impacts on children's growth

ASD creates various challenges which change along with the child’s different developmental stages. The syndrome can cause significant impact on parent- child relationships, peer relationships and adjustment to school and society. Children with ASD vary greatly in the overall functioning depending on the individual’s age, language and intellectual development, as well as other factors such as treatment history and ongoing support.

 

How common is autism spectrum disorder?

How common is autism spectrum disorder?

Prevalence rate

According to a local study, about 1.6% of Hong Kong children below 15 has an ASD diagnosis.

Gender ratio

ASD affects more boys than girls. According to the above study, the ratio is 6.58 to 1.

 

What causes autism spectrum disorder?
Mostly genetics

Though the exact cause is still not fully delineated, ASD is now widely accepted to be a neurodevelopmental disorder that is highly heritable and resulting from multiple genetic and non-genetic causes.

Heritability is demonstrated by the higher recurrence rate of siblings of children with ASD. About 10% of children with autism are also identified as suffering from Down’s syndrome, fragile X syndrome, tuberous sclerosis or other genetic and chromosomal disorder.

*Know more – Myths of ASD

  • Is ASD caused by poor parenting?

    No. Empirical findings have refuted poor parenting as a cause.

  • Will measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine trigger ASD?

    No. There is overwhelmingly strong evidence that the measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine is not associated with ASD.

 

What are the symptoms of autism spectrum disorder?

What are the symptoms of autism spectrum disorder?

Owing to individual differences and their complex interplay under different social contexts, the behavioural manifestations of the core features of children with ASD can vary greatly. The followings are some common clinical presentations:

Deficits in social interaction
  • Social interaction difficulties may vary from being aloof, passive to over-passionate, or odd mannered behaviours.
  • Some of the very young children with ASD may only approach adults for addressing physical or biological needs, such as getting food or toys. For these, they may use others as mechanical aids to get what they need. Some may show aversion to physical contact and stiffen when held.
  • They may show limited social relatedness and attachment with parents or close care-takers, and prefer to play alone and with little or no spontaneous sharing of interest, enjoyment and achievements; some may show motivation to socialize but act over- passionately or self-centered.
  • Older children may still fail to initiate appropriate social signaling to others (e.g. socially directed smiles, eye to eye gaze), and lack response to others’ signals in social situations.
  • For those who have developed useful verbal language, communication is still often used for instrumental rather than social purposes. Apart from aloofness, some may have social attempts when instructed by adults but with low social volition, while others with higher social intention may appear odd, over-passionate and self-centered.
Deficits in non-verbal communication
  • Children with ASD are weak in the use of non-verbal communication. Very young children with ASD may have difficulty indicating needs through pointing and eye- gazing.
  • Limited facial expression and poor eye contact may render them to be seemingly rude, uninterested or inattentive in social interactions.
  • Some may speak with high-pitched voices, strange prosody or with robot-like monotone.
  • Older children may have difficulty in understanding social cues from body language and tone of voice. The overall integration of verbal and non-verbal communication is weak.
Deficits in relationship and friendship building
  • Children with ASD lack adequate social skills to develop friendships with others.
  • Many children with ASD have speech and language difficulties, such as weak fund of vocabularies, pronominal reversals, which affect their ability to converse effectively with peers and in friendship building.
  • Even for those with intact language and who are eager to make friends, the weakness in empathy to understand others’ thoughts and feelings creates a range of challenges. These include difficulties in processing complex social cues and understanding implicit social rules, regulating behaviour to match specific social context, following rules of the communication context, and understanding non-literal languages including jokes, idioms and metaphors.
  • Friendships are often one-sided or based solely on shared special interests. Inappropriate attempts at social interchange are often interpreted as aggressive or disruptive behaviour as they may be socially immature, mechanical, awkward or overly passionate.
Stereotyped or repetitive motor movement or use of objects/ speech
  • Restricted and ritualised patterns of verbal or nonverbal behaviours (such as lining of objects and repetitive opening and closing doors) are common during early and middle childhood.
  • Stereotyped body movements (stereotypies) such as flapping of hands, running back and forth, head banging, rocking of body, self-spinning, and finger movements may be present when these children become excited, distressed or agitated.
  • Some children may keep repeatedly watching the same movie or reading the same story book.
  • The unusual speech pattern may include stereotyped words or phrases which are out of the social context, immediate or delayed echolalia (inappropriately repeating other people’s spoken words), repetitive questioning, and greeting rituals, and for some older children pedantic speech with vocabularies or phrase that are unusual for age or social group may be seen.
Insistence on sameness
  • Children with ASD often show insistence on sameness or excessive adherence to routines. Insistence on taking the same route, maintaining same arrangement for objects, eating a narrow range of food items, adopting rigid thinking patterns are some common examples.
  • Many respond to small changes in the environment with disproportionate distress, including change in routine, transition from one activity to another, and moving to new home or classes with changes of people and environment.
Fixated interest
  • Fixated or narrow interests are very common in children with ASD. Some demonstrate strong memory of information and data and fascination with numbers, bus routes, calendar and natural sciences.
  • In early infancy and early childhood, commonly there is absent or minimal exploratory play or symbolic/fantasy play (for example playing teacher/doctor games). Instead, the play is monotonous and repetitive, and lacking variation, such as spinning and lining activities.
  • For older children, including those with high functioning, there may be limited imitation, creativity and imagination. They may have unusual preoccupation with parts of objects, or perseverative interests with particular topics, all leading to negative impact on their daily and social functioning.
Sensory issues
  • Some children with ASD have sensory processing problems of hyper- or hypo-reactivity to sensory input or unusual interest in sensory aspects of the environment. Some show apparent indifference to pain, heat or cold, adverse response to specific sounds or textures, excessive smelling or touching of objects, visual fascination with lights or movement (e.g. spinning objects). They may present sensory seeking or avoidance behaviours to usual sensory stimulation.

 

 

How to treat children with autism spectrum disorder?
Behavioural and educational training

There is no medical cure for ASD. The current mainstay of intervention for ASD is to improve the overall functional status of the child through behavioural and educational training, social adjustment, as well as continual parental support.

Key points in treating autism spectrum disorder:

  • To address the individual needs of each child: training strategies should be tailor-made based on professional assessment in such areas as social communication, language, play skills, and adaptive behaviours.
  • Early, intensive and sustained interventions: the use of multiple treatment modalities carried out in natural settings, and active parental involvement, are proven to be more effective.
  • Parental participation: to provide support to the parents during treatment to facilitate implementations of the learned skills in daily living and community settings.

Examples of evidence-based intervention approaches:

  What it means Intervention programmes using this approach
Behavioural approach This approach is based on the learning theory that behaviour is shaped by antecedents and reinforcement. It involves breaking down complex skills or behaviours into smaller steps and teaching individuals through the use of clear instructions, rewards, and repetition.
  • Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA)
  • Picture Exchange Communication System (PECS)
Combined approach Some programmes have been developed using principles from both the behavioural and social/developmental approaches. Examples include:
  • TEACCH: Emphasises the use of structured environment and visual cues to enhance an ASD individual’s understanding of environmental expectations and others’ behaviours, in order to facilitate their learning;
  • SCERTS: Emphasises active engagement, environmental support in enhancing an individual’s learning and communication motivation, as well as emotional regulation and problem-solving skills.
  • Treatment and Education of Autistic and related Communication handicapped Children (TEACCH)
  • Social-Communication, Emotional Regulation and Transactional Support (SCERTS)
Relationship-based approach This approach is generally play-based and taught in the child’s natural environment with parents playing the major roles in the intervention. It facilitates emotional development and relationship building of the children, expanding their learning experience by leading their attention towards the external environment.
  • Developmental, Individual Difference, Relationship-Based Model (DIR)
  • Relationship Development Intervention (RDI)
  • Floor Time
Socio-cognitive approach Focus on developing social skills, examples include:
  • Social Stories: Short descriptions of a particular situation, event or activity, which include specific information about what to expect in that situation and reasons behind. These strategies help children with ASD to understand others’ perspectives, learn appropriate social behaviours and build social skills.
  • Social Thinking: Strategies that help an individual to build up social competencies to understand and interpret social information, including the thoughts, beliefs, emotions, perspectives, motives, intentions of other, so as to make appropriate social responses or actions.
  • PEERS: The teaching of appropriate social skills in group setting which emphasizes parents’ involvement and enhances their instructional skills.
  • Social Story
  • Social Thinking
  • Program for the Education and Enrichment of Relational Skills (PEERS)
Medication

Medication has not been shown to be able to cure core social or communication impairments of ASD. However, using medication to reduce some specific behaviours such as aggression, self-injurious behaviour, anxiety, stereotypes, compulsive behaviour, mood disturbances, hyperactivity, inattention, and sleep problems can enhance the child’s ability to benefit from other educational and behavioural modification interventions.

 

Other approaches with insufficient evidence
  • auditory integration therapy
  • lens and spectacles
  • special diets
  • mineral and vitamin supplements
  • secretin
  • detoxification and treatment of infection

*Tips for parents:

The other approaches have insufficient evidence to support their theoretical bases or to demonstrate efficacy, and some could be harmful. Parents should consult with doctors and exercise caution when considering these approaches.

 

How to support and help children with autism spectrum disorder?
Assessment & diagnosis:

Parents suspect children of ASD can approach the below organisations for initial evaluation and further referral when necessary. School personnel can also make relevant referral for the above services if deemed necessary.

Initial evaluation Professional assessment and diagnosis
  • Department of Health’s Maternal and Child Health Centres (preschool)
  • Student Health Service (school- age)
  • Private general practitioners
  • Child Assessment Service of the Department of Health
  • Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services of the Hospital Authority
  • Pediatricians, clinical psychologists

Rehabilitation service & educational placement:

Children diagnosed with ASD by professionals will be referred to suitable training and education support services based on their ability. The training each child requires varies, but generally includes training in cognition, language and physical coordination.

Preschool School-aged
Target preschool children (aged 2 to 5) with mild developmental delay Choice of special schools or mainstream schools mostly depends on their cognitive ability
  • Early Education and Training Centre (EETC)
  • Integrated Programme in Kindergarten-cum-Child Care Centre (ICCC)
  • Special Child Care Centre (SCCC) – for those who need more intensive support
  • Special schools: there will be additional resource teachers to implement specific programs on behavioural management, as well as training of communication and social skills.
  • Mainstream schools: additional support through special teaching and behavioural management should be provided.
Family support:
Voluntary organisations Non-government agencies and various parent associations organise regular activities, workshops and talks catering for the needs of children and families with ASD.
Parent associations Parent associations and support groups and parent resource centres also play important supportive roles.
Public education Public education helps to enhance public awareness and understanding of the various challenges to children with ASD and their families in different developmental stages.

 

Can children with autism spectrum disorder grow up normally?

The outlook of a child's subsequent development depends largely on the severity of ASD and the child's cognitive and language abilities. Unfavourable factors include:

  1. presence of intellectual disability,
  2. seizures, and
  3. absence of functional speech by the age of 5-6 years.

Adolescents and adults with ASD are confronted with challenges in social, academic, vocational and daily functioning. With early intervention, better understanding and acceptance from family and community, individuals with ASD can enjoy positive and rewarding lives.

 

 

 

"香港社會服務聯會- 社聯頻道" 高能力自閉症人士:「請講野直接d,唔好兜圈」 "香港社會服務聯會- 社聯頻道" 「創意藝術」助SEN學生 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關自閉症的短片
香港社會服務聯會- 社聯頻道 香港社會服務聯會-社聯頻道「創意藝術」助sen學生 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關自閉症的短片

Reference source(s): Website of Child Assessment Service, Department of Health

Skip to content
搜尋

自閉症譜系障礙

自閉症譜系障礙

自閉症譜系障礙是甚麼?

自閉症譜系障礙 (Autism Spectrum Disorder, ASD)是一種與生俱來的神經發展障礙,患者在社交溝通以至認知、情緒、行為方面都有不同程度的困難和發展差異。此障礙影響患者與人互動的表現。一般患者行為會較重複及固執不變,興趣狹隘或出現感官反應異常(例如對某些聲音、味覺、反應過敏,表現害怕)。患者亦可能同時出現其他相關障礙,例如智力及語言問題。

有關自閉症譜系障礙不同的名稱

以往有關自閉症譜系障礙在診斷的名稱上常有差異,例如自閉症、孤獨症、亞氏保加症、高功能自閉症、自閉症傾向、自閉症徴狀、非典型自閉症、待分類的廣泛性發展障礙等,不同的名稱可能令人困惑。隨着診斷標準的更新,以上名稱已統稱為「自閉症譜系障礙」。

對兒童成長的影響

自閉症譜系障礙在患者的不同發展階段會帶來不同的挑戰。此障礙對其親子關係、朋輩關係、學校生活以至社區適應等方面產生深遠的影響。然而,每位自閉症譜系障礙患者的情況都不一樣,這與患者的年齡、語言、智力、過去及現在所接受的治療有著密切的關係。

 

自閉症譜系障礙有多普遍?

自閉症譜系障礙有多普遍?

發病率

根據本地研究,香港15歲以下兒童的自閉症譜系障礙患病率在1.6% 左右。

男女比例

統計數字顯示男性患者明顯比女性多,比例為6.58比1。

 

自閉症譜系障礙的成因是甚麼?
遺傳因素

自閉症譜系障礙的成因仍未有確實的結論,普遍認為與遺傳因素有相當大的關係,並與多項基因及環境因素相互影響。

研究發現自閉症譜系障礙的兄弟姊妹患有同一徵狀的機會比一般兒童高。大約有10%的自閉症譜系障礙患者也同時患有其他遺傳及基因突變疾病(例如唐氏綜合症、脆性X綜合症、結節性硬化症等等)。

*陪我講‧話你知 ─ 有關自閉症譜系障礙的誤解

  • 自閉症譜系障礙源於父母管教不善嗎?

    並非如此,研究已推翻父母管教方式及家庭背景是導致自閉症譜系障礙出現的原因。

  • 接種麻疹、腮腺炎、德國麻疹混合疫苗會誘發自閉症譜系障礙?

    不會,大量研究數據指出接種麻疹、腮腺炎、德國麻疹混合疫苗與自閉症譜系障礙並沒有關聯。

 

 

自閉症譜系障礙有哪些徵狀?

自閉症譜系障礙有哪些徵狀?

每位患有自閉症譜系障礙的兒童也有自己的個人特質,加上面對不同的社交場合,他們的行為表現是可以存有很大差異的。以下是一般較常見的臨床徵狀:

社交互動能力困難
  • 冷漠、被動、過分熱情:患者的社交表現可以是冷漠、被動,或過分熱情、古怪。
  • 只為個人需要而接近其他人:年幼時,有些兒童可能只為個人需要而接近其他人,例如希望得到食物或玩具時會強行 拉別人的手作為工具以取得所需。除了以上情況之外,通常與人缺乏眼神接觸或情感交流,甚至抗拒別人親近,例如接觸他的身體、擁抱等。
  • 難與人建立親密關係:這些兒童一般較難與人,甚至父母或照顧者建立親密關係。他們較喜歡獨自玩耍,很少注意其他同伴。他們也很少自發地分享個人興趣、感受及成就。部分兒童或會按成人的指示與人交往,然而他們的主動性通常較低;另外一些兒童雖然有社交動機,但卻表現過分熱情或較自我中心。
  • 不恰當的社交行為:較年長的兒童仍然難以建立恰當的社交行為(例如對人微笑、眼神接觸),亦較難察覺別人的社交訊息及情緒反應,有時可能出現不恰當的行為表現。
  • 只顧講、不愛聽:社交溝通方面,即使兒童已有一定的語言能力,但他們不擅與別人打開或持續話題,有時又不理會別人的反應,單向地對人講述一些自己感興趣的話題,容易令人誤會為「只顧講、不愛聽」。
非語言溝通困難
  • 欠缺非語言溝通技巧:患者較難運用非語言溝通技巧與人交流,年幼時欠缺眼神接觸及較少以表情、手勢或動作表達意思。
  • 看似沒有禮貌、不専注:由於缺乏面部表情和眼神接觸,他們很多時給人一種沒有禮貌和不専注的負面印象。
  • 音調較高、語氣古怪:部分兒童說話時音調較高,語氣較為刻板或古怪。
  • 難以了解語氣和身體語言:兒童長大後也未能在社交中掌握別人的身體語言、語氣聲調所傳達的意思,亦難以協調及一致地用語言和非語言訊息綜合地去表達自己的意思。
發展人際關係困難
  • 欠缺社交能力:患者與朋輩相處時欠缺技巧,較難與人建立友誼。
  • 語言及溝通方面的困難:(例如詞彙貧乏,容易將「你」、「我」等代名詞混淆使用)會影響到他們結交朋友及與朋輩溝通相處的能力。
  • 難以理解別人的想法和感受:即使他們有足夠的語言能力及興趣去結交朋友,在與人相處時,又因欠缺同理心,難以理解別人的想法和感受。他們一般較難理解社交上的「潛規則」,以至較難調節自己的行為以配合當時的處境(例如面對陌生人或師長時也不懂忌諱、當著面說對方太肥或瘦而冒犯別人)。他們較難明白非直接的溝通模式(例如比喻、諷刺或語帶相關等),因此未能有效地與人交流。
  • 只與有共同興趣的人作伴:友誼建立方面也較單向,多數只與有共同興趣的人作伴。也有不成熟、不自然或過分熱情的表現,給人過分頑皮或粗魯的印象。
重複行為
  • 限制性和儀式化:限制性和儀式化的言語或非言語行為(例如執著地排列物件和重複地開門和關門)在幼童期和中童期時很常見。
  • 重復刻板的動作:當這些孩子變得興奮,苦惱或煩躁時,可能會做出重復刻板的動作,例如拍手,來回奔跑,撞頭,身體搖擺,自轉和擺動手指。
  • 反復觀看:有些孩子可能反復觀看同一部電影或閱讀同一本故事書。
  • 不尋常的說話模式:孩子可能有不尋常的說話模式,例如重複不合適的單詞或詞組,不恰當地重複別人的說話,重複的提問和重複的打招呼,對於一些年齡較大的孩子,他們的說話可能帶有不適合其年齡或社交的詞彙或短語組。
固執不變
  • 相同性的堅持或過分遵守常規:有自閉症譜系障礙的兒童經常表現出對相同性的堅持或過分遵守常規。一些常見的例子包括堅持走同一條路線,保持物件的排列要不變,吃很少種類的食品,採取刻板的思維模式。
  • 面對環境的小變化時會有極大的困擾:許多患者在面對環境的小變化時會遇到極大的困擾,包括常規程序變化,從一項活動過渡到另一項活動以及因轉到新的住處或班別所帶來的人和環境變化。
狹隘興趣
  • 興趣狹隘:有些患者對訊息和數據有強大的記憶力,並對數字,巴士路線,日曆和自然科學產生濃厚的興趣。
  • 較少參與探索性或假想性遊戲:年幼時較少參與探索性或假想性遊戲(例如扮演老師或醫生等角色),他們的玩意及遊戲技巧亦比較單一、重複及欠缺變化(例如喜歡轉動或排列物件等)。
  • 過分沉迷個別物件或興趣:年紀較大,包括能力較高的兒童,他們的遊戲仍然欠缺模仿、想像及創意,可能會對某些物件的部分或者個別話題顯得過分沉迷,並對他們的生活及社交產生影響。
感官反應異常
  • 感官方面有過高或過低的反應:部分患者在感官方面有過高或過低的反應,例如有些兒童會對某些聲音、質感有極端的驚恐或抗拒的反應;有些對溫度及痛楚反應過低;有些則過分追求嗅某種味道、觸摸某種質感的物件或凝視某些光源及動態(例如轉動的物件)。他們的感官反應不尋常,以致他們對於一些日常的感官刺激有過度追求或逃避的情況。

 

如何治療自閉症譜系障礙?
教育及行為訓練

現時醫學上無法根治自閉症譜系障礙,但通過適當的教育及行為訓練,可以幫助患病兒童建立有效的社交溝通技巧,加強其適應社會的能力,並對父母提供持續支援。

治療自閉症譜系障礙的要點:

  • 必須針對兒童的個別需要:應當由專業人員詳細評估後選擇合適的方法,進行在社交、語言、遊戲技巧和社會適應行為等範疇上的針對性訓練 。
  • 適宜於早期開始:在父母的參與下於日常生活的場景中進行密集及持久的多方位訓練,會對兒童更有幫助。
  • 必須配合家長的參與:對家長提供支援以確保兒童及家長能有效地將學到的技巧應用至日常生活及社區中。

一些實證為本的治療方法:

  策略簡介 應用此策略的介入措施
行為策略 此策略是透過分析行為出現的前因和後果來釐定改變行為的方法。可應用於處理兒童的行為和情 緒問題及建立新的技能,提昇孩子的學習及生活適應能力。例如將新技能分拆成細小步驟,給予清晰的指令逐步教導兒童,再配以獎勵及重複練習的方式,讓兒童逐漸掌握新技巧。
  • 應用行為分析學 (Applied Behaviour Analysis, ABA)
  • 圖片交換溝通系統 (Picture Exchange Communication System, PECS)
綜合策略 此策略同時包含行為理論丶社交及個人發展要素。例子包括:
  • 結構化教學模式: 利用有系統的環境及視覺策略來增加孩子對環境及他人行為的理解。
  • 自閉症綜合教育模式: 增強社交溝通的主動性、提升情緒處理和面對困難應變的能力。
  • 結構化教學模式 (Treatment and Education of Autistic and related Communication handicapped Children, TEACCH)
  • 自閉症綜合教育模式 (Social- Communication, Emotional Regulation and Transactional Support, SCERTS)
互動策略 此策略多以遊戲為本,教導父母如何於日常生活中透過遊戲來與兒童產生互動,繼而促進兒童的情感發展及關係建立,並吸引其對外在環境的關注,好讓孩子的學習經驗得到擴展。
  • 發展性個別差異、關係本位模式 (Developmental, Individual Difference, Relationship-Based Model, DIR)
  • 人際關係發展介入法 (Relationship Development Intervention, RDI)
  • 地板時間 (Floor Time)
社交認知策略 以訓練社交技能為主,包括:
  • 社交情境故事:透過簡單的社交故事來演繹不同的社交情境,幫助兒童理解不同社交處境之餘,亦提升他們推測別人想法的能力,從而發展出恰當的社交行為和態度。
  • 社交思考訓練: 幫助孩子理解及推測別人的想法、感受、觀點、動機和意圖,從而主動作出合宜的回應。
  • 朋輩社交技巧培訓:強調家長須共同參與,以小組形式教導兒童社交溝通技巧,同時亦教導家長如何適切地指導,以確保兒童於朋輩中能有效地使用。
  • 社交情境故事 (Social Story)
  • 社交思考訓練 (Social Thinking)
  • 朋輩社交技巧培訓 (PEERS Program)
藥物治療

目前尚未有證據顯示藥物能根治自閉症譜系障礙的社交及溝通困難。然而,某些具侵略性或自我傷害的行為、情緒困擾、強迫及刻板的行為、過度活躍、專注力弱和難以入睡等問題,可透過藥物減低其徵狀,從而幫助兒童在接受教育及行為治療時有更佳的表現。

 

未有足夠科學實證的治療方法
  • 聽覺統合治療
  • 特製鏡片
  • 特別飲食模式
  • 礦物及維生素補充品
  • 促胰液素
  • 解毒和感染治療

*家長小貼士:

以上療法對自閉症譜系障礙的療效尚未有足夠科學實證支持,有些甚至可能對患者有害。如患者及家人欲嘗試這些治療方法,應先尋求醫生的意見。

 

如何支援及幫助有自閉症譜系障礙的兒童?
評估及診斷:

當家長懷疑自己的孩子有自閉症譜系徵狀的時候,可帶孩子到社區相關的機構進行初步評估,如兒童需要進一步評估,便會作出轉介安排。假如老師擔心學童這方面的發展,亦可建議家長按以下途徑尋求相關服務。

初步評估 專業評估及診斷
  • 母嬰健康院(學前兒童)
  • 學生健康服務(學齡兒童)
  • 家庭醫生
  • 衞生署兒童體能智力測驗中心
  • 醫管局轄下的兒童及青少年精神健康服務
  • 兒科醫生、臨床或教育心理學家

復康及教育支援:

被診斷為患有自閉症譜系障礙的兒童,專業評估人員會按其能力及需要來安排合適的訓練及教育支援服務。兒童的訓練需要不盡相同,但大致的訓練範疇可包括有:認知、言語及體能協調方面。

學前教育 學齡兒童
針對年齡界乎2-5歲,並有發展遲緩的自閉症譜系障礙兒童 會根據其智力程度,安排入讀特殊學校或主流學校
  • 社會福利署轄下的早期教育及訓練中心
  • 幼稚園暨幼兒中心兼收弱能兒童計劃
  • 特殊幼兒中心(適合需要進一步支援的兒童)
  • 特殊學校:具備額外的教師及人員,以推行有關行為管理、溝通及社交技巧訓練等特別課程。
  • 主流學校:教育局會為教師就學童所需的特殊教學策略及行為管理提供指引及支援。
家庭支援:
志願機構 社區上很多志願機構,均定期舉辦講座及研討會,提供家長輔導,並提供兒童訓練、玩具圖書館和康樂活動等。
家長組織 有些家長互助組織,也會為有需要的家庭提供適切的輔助。
公衆教育 兒童患者在成長路上會面對不少壓力及挑戰。公衆教育亦有助社會人士對自閉症譜系障礙患者及其家庭有更多的接納和諒解。

 

患有自閉症譜系障礙的兒童長大後情況如何?

患者隨後的發展通常取決於自閉症譜系障礙的嚴重程度、智力及語言發展。不利因素包括:

  1. 智力障礙
  2. 患癲癇症
  3. 到五至六歲仍未能有效用語言與人溝通

當患有自閉症譜系障礙的兒童進入靑少年及成人階段,他們在社交、情緒及行為上會持續面對挑戰。如家人、照顧者及社區人士能明白自閉症譜系障礙患者不同階段的需要,提供適合的幫助,會對他們的發展會帶來正面的影響。

 

 

 

"香港社會服務聯會- 社聯頻道" 高能力自閉症人士:「請講野直接d,唔好兜圈」 "香港社會服務聯會- 社聯頻道" 「創意藝術」助SEN學生 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關自閉症的短片
香港社會服務聯會- 社聯頻道 香港社會服務聯會-社聯頻道「創意藝術」助sen學生 Radio i Care 友心情網上電台YouTube channel中有關自閉症的短片

參考資料來源: 衞生署兒童體能智力測驗服務網站